Using a cheap RS232 to Ethernet module

I’m a newbie here and haven’t yet purchased a MiCasaVerde device yet but I have a Powermax Pro alarm system and was wondering how to connect them together. I’ve been a member of the forum for a while but didn’t spot this subject area for some reason until now.

I was wondering if I could use a “cheap” device such as this one on ebay:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RS232-Serial-TTL-UART-TO-Ethernet-TCPIP-convert-adapter-Module-/281186328627?_trksid=p2054897.l4275

I think I would also need an RS232 Powermax module (approx ?30). Would they both fit inside the Powermax and get power from there as well. So I would only need an ethernet cable to the Powermax?

Would I then be able to connect the ethernet to my router and access it from a Vera Lite?

Thanks for any help

Yes, works well with a USR-TCP232-T. You won’t even need the Visonic RS232 module, as the PowerMax IP interface has the TX/RX signals on 3.3V which you can connect directly. See this post. I only still need to update the plugin to communicate directly via IP (now it always expects a USB device). I’m planning to do that in the first upcoming release.

Thanks for the quick response and you helping me out.

So all the Visonic RS232 device does is change the voltage levels with a MAX232 chip, charging so much money for it is scandalous.

I took your advice and I’ve just bought this from EBAY:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Dual-serial-RS232-TTL-to-Ethernet-Converter-TCP-IP-Module-DHCP-WEB-3-3V-5V-/181205172624?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a30ab8190
It is the updated model to the hardware you identified, called a USR-TCP232-E
It is pin compatible with the USR-TCP232-T but has the capacity for dual RS232, has DLNA and a couple of other extras.

I know this is the obvious question but do you have timescales for the software update you are planning that includes IP?

Thanks again

It does a bit more, but that is the essence. Wouldn’t say it is scandalous, just normal business.