So confused

So i am new to Vera, i just got my VeraLite and am trying to set it up and am so lost as to how to do the things i want to.

I apologize if this is the wrong sub-forum to post in.

I have a ton of questions i haven’t been able to find answers to and yes i looked in the wiki?

[ol][li]are triggers AND triggers or are they OR triggers - i think from the behavior i have seen they are or? if this sensor is tripped or if this one is tripped then the action will execute?.[/li]
[li]if i have a scene set up and i have conditions in LUUP as well as in triggers, which one takes priority and which one runs first?[/li]
[li]how do i customize alert messages?[/li]
[li]when i use the schedule “after sunset” when does it stop running? at sunrise or as 2400?[/li]
[li]my door/window sensors were detected as motion sensors - what is the proper way to get them as a door/window sensor? i made some changes and they appear in the UI as a window sensor now but i can’t set triggers on them and i don’t know why (beyond i did something wrong[/li]
[li]where do you get the variables for objects in the LUUP code? is there some beginners guide to Luup that actually explains where you get these pieces of information? the wiki on lump is very lacking especially in regards to this is where this variable came from these are what each part of this code means?. it really teaches NOTHING[/li][/ol]

lastly i tried using the wiki to create a piece of lump code but because i don’t understand how the elements of the code are generated i am not getting it to work properly? i am trying to have it look to see if motion is detected my either of two motion sensors and if so turn on a light?

local SENSORLIVE = 25 – The living room motion sensor device number
local SENSORDINE = 18 – The dining room motion sensor device number
local LIGHT = 4 – The living room lamp sensor device number

function turnonlight()
local tripped1 = luup.variable_get( SES_SID, “Tripped1”, SENSORLIVE) or “0”