Garage Door open Check

Hi all, my apologies upfront if this is an old topic. I am new to home automation and am still confused about Vera usage. I just installed a garage door controller (LFM-20) and door/window sensor. Both appear to be working fine. Now I would like to add a schedule to check to see if the garage door is open after 8PM and have it send me a notification - can some one please point me in the right direction? Please keep it in layman’s terms as my head is already spinning :-[

I hope you have found the Garage door plugin to actually watch the Garage Door Sensor and Pulse the relay.

I am afraid your request is more than a trivial request.

I recommend the PLEG plugin.
There is a nice getting started guide.

You will need an input timer for it called “NightCheck”
It wii fire every day at 8:00 pm

And an input triigger called “DoorOpen” that is bound to the garage door sensor or the Garage Door Plugin, if you use it.

Then create a condition called “Announce” with the following Condition expression:

DoorOpen AND NightCheck

Then for the PLEG device go to the notifications tab and create a notification for when the condition
“Announce” is satisfied.

I do exactly what you are asking for but I use Vera Alerts. This is beyond a simple beginner step though. It involves a Lua script inside a scene, and you need to have Vera Alerts installed. The way this works is at the prescribed time a scene kicks off which turns off my outside lights, basement lights, etc., locks the doors, and checks the status of the garage doors. It then sends a message to my Android smart phone via Vera Alerts to tell me if the garage doors are open or closed.

If you want to attempt this let me know and I’ll give you the gory details.

[quote author=RichardTSchaefer link=topic=23242.msg157668#msg157668 date=1392324268]
I hope you have found the Garage door plugin to actually watch the Garage Door Sensor and Pulse the relay.