ZWAVE Distance less than 4 feet - nothing is working

I’ve been using Vera2 for over a year without issue. Have about 30 devices or so. Added a Vera3 into the mix about 3 months ago. About 2 nights ago all of the ZWAVE devices started to fail. So I started playing, adding devices to the 3 and removing from the 2, etc… No matter what I do I can’t get things to work beyond 5 feet or so. If I put Vera in the room I seem to hit the thermostat and lights but can’t see a switch in the next room only 3 feet away. I’m also not able to re-link one of my Trane thermostats - it removed from the network without issue but won’t be added to a new one.

I’ve gone around and shut down all of the wireless devices in the house and no change. I also took a brand new module or two and added them to see if that would make a difference and again 5 feet away they don’t work.

I’m at a total lose, hoping that someone else has experienced something like this and can help in some way.

If you feel confident enough, open up the Vera 3 unit and check to make sure that the antenna is not disconnected from the board. I have seen this happen to a few.

• Garrett

So after 40 + hours and little sleep I’ve finally found the issue. I have a wall switch on the second floor of my house that seems to have gone bad. I killed the power via the panel breaker and everything went green and is working again. Not sure if anyone else has ever experienced this before, but it caused huge issues across the board.

What make/type of switch caused the problem??

It was a GE appliance wall switch - think I got it back in the day of the Radio Shack clearance.