Z-WAVE vs ZIGBEE

[size=14pt]Z-WAVE vs ZIGBEE
[/size]

Good morning All,

I was wondering, are ZIGBEE devices easier to configure than Z-WAVE devices.

Now please bare in mind, that I am no expert in Z-WAVE products, but I personally feel that some sensors are a real pain in my A__ to configure.

I have a ZOOZ 4 in 1 sensor which is the same as the VISION, and it is causing all kinds of problems, I don’t think its the device, I think its the configuration and association complexities that do not seem to work.

Any ideas, folks.

Thanks

Dom

Most Zigbee devices do not work with Vera, yet.

If you are using Vera as a controller, Z-Wave devices are considerably more compatible and less troublesome than Zigbee devices. But, this doesn’t mean that all Z-Wave devices are trouble free.

[quote=“Z-Waver, post:2, topic:194161”]Most Zigbee devices do not work with Vera, yet.

If you are using Vera as a controller, Z-Wave devices are considerably more compatible and less troublesome than Zigbee devices. But, this doesn’t mean that all Z-Wave devices are trouble free.[/quote]

Thanks Z-Waver,

I am having so many problems, trying to figure out the association concept, and the group ID’s, and Endpoints.

I have been trying to associate a lamp with a motion sensor, now does the device selection need to include the lamp and the sensor in the same group, and which parent ID do I need to select, the lamps Parent or the sensor parent Id, also were can I find which group to use, if not indicated in the device documentation.

Dom

You should not change parentIDs. These are set when a device is included and should not be changed after that. If you’ve already changed things, exclude the device to reset it to factory defaults and then include it again before you go any further.