Z Wave dimmers/fan/compatible LED candelabra lamps

Okay, so I have GE Z Wave dimmers controlling the lights in our fan in the living room. It uses 4 candelabra base lamps.

I have tried numerous “dimmable” LED lamps. But they all react in the same manner.

They refuse to turn off. The flicker while dimmed (visibly). Their dimming curve is very steep. And on some of them, if I take the dimmer all the way down on some of them, they cycle all the way back to on. HELP!!!

The topic of dimming LEDs and various Z-Wave dimmers is covered EXTENSIVELY throughout this forum.

The short version is that you need decent/good LED bulbs(I have no experience with candelabra ones) that will work with a TRIAC type dimmer and you also need a Z-Wave dimmer that utilizes a neutral wire. The GE/Jasco 45612 Dimmer Switch cannot be used as it lacks a neutral wire and feeds current through the circuit, even when “Off”.

With good bulbs, you could use the LINEAR WD500Z-1 500-Watt Wall Mount Dimmer or the identical Evolve LRM-AS. Although expensive, the Leviton VRE06-1LZ 600W Electronic Low Voltage Scene Capable Dimmer also provides excellent results.

Ouch. That hurts. We have to use the GE ZWave dimmers because of our home automation system. I have tried several brands of LED lamps. I guess I will have to just keep trying.

But there are apparently some incandescent lamps that don’t work with them. I just bought 40W lamps and at around 70% or so they click off.

These have no neutral.

I had lamps that seemed to work well, but they were far too dark for my living room.

What home automation unit do you have? I imagine the Vera? Any Z-Wave switch will work with the gateway - the question really is which switches will work with the LEDs.

I have the old GE 45606 switches, and so far I have installed 4, and had a problem with one on LEDs. I am still troubleshooting.

In my browsing recently, I came across this switch from Leviton, which explicitly states it will work with LEDs: