Where do wires go for 3 way switches go?

I have a light that is controlled by an existing 3 way switch. I want to take the 3 way switch out and replace it with a GE 3 way switch. Before I go and blow out one of the zwave switches :), can someone tell me, by looking at the attached drawing, where each of the wires go from the GE zwave switches?

If I have not included enough information, let me know and I will be sure to supply it!

Thanks.
Gene

I am no electrician, and this is my best guess. Double check before proceeding!

I will call the 2 switches SwitchL for left, and SwitchR for right.

You mention switch L only has 1 set of wires…can you confirm that? That seems odd. Usually wiring comes into one switch with hot/neutral, out to the other switch with neutral and travelers. Then into the other switch with the neutral/travelers, and out the the light with neutral/load.

Assuming the above is true…
Switch L has LINE in on one of the black cables, and the switch position determines whether the other black of the red is connected to it. You can flip the switch and see what happens to the “hot” side.

Switch R probably has the LOAD connected to the upper left black cable. The RED cables connect to each other.

Flipping SwitchL to ON (leaving SwitchR OFF) will cause the RED cables to become HOT, one black on SwitchL to go not hot, the upper-left BLACK on SwitchR to become HOT, the upper-right black on SwitchR to be not hot, and the light to turn ON.

Flipping SwitchR to ON (leaving SwitchL OFF) will cause the upper-left BLACK on SwitchR to become HOT, the upper-right black on SwitchR to be stay HOT, and the light to turn ON. Reds will have no voltage present.

If you have a tester, it would really help to kill the power, and test for continuity between the points.

Well, I did go back and look at the boxes and yes, there are 2 bundles of cables going in to each box. (I have edited the drawing to reflect that).