What to do first with new Veralite?

Howdy,

I just ordered several switches and a Veralite. In reading the forum I see several threads about UI6 not being ready. If my new Veralite comes with UI6, is it recommended to downgrade to UI5? If so, is that easy to do?

Also, any other recommendations / configuration changes to make before adding all the z-wave devices?

Thanks for any assistance!

Hello MoridinTX,
Being a newbie myself, I can tell you my views since I received my VeraLite about a month ago. I definitely did not want to have UI6, because the apps I wanted to use didn’t work with that. After loggin in on the site they indicate on the user flyer (getvera.com or so), I underwent an automatic upgrade to UI6, leaving me with a UI where all help functions were inactive. No help from Vera Control. So I logged in on cp.mios.com. This appears to be the site for UI5. I downgraded my VeraLite and am working with the latest firmware release of UI5. It works well.

After reading a lot in this forum, I have decided to stay on UI5 for as long as possible. The image I have is that the company Vera Control does not have a sound track record in software quality. Also, their release policy is not something to instill trust in me. UI6 has not been completed, at least it has not been formally declared to be out of beta, and they are vague about its role. Something like a temporary UI in between UI5 and ‘the real new UI’, UI7?

The situation seems to be improving, as the first apps working with UI6 show up. But I do not want to be part of a ‘UI6 extented beta community’, knowing that ‘the real new UI’ is now in its formal beta stage. I expect the effort is going into UI7 now.

@2linker,

Thanks for your thoughts. I have a lot of the same trepidations, regarding the UI and its software quality, just based on all the reading I have been doing.