What is the difference between GetVera and Mios.com

I’ve just unpacked my new Vera Lite and trying to get it setup.

I’m no computer newbie but am sad to see how complicated and confusing this all is, feels very fragmented.

The GetVera site isn’t able to detect my controller but I know it’s there because I can see it’s IP address on the network. I browsed to the IP address using my browser and got a UI5 website. But in there it asks me for my Mios.com account details. Am I supposed to sign up there too?

Mios.com is the OEM and you do not need to create an account via that site.

If you have UI5 you will need to create an account via MiOS

Extract from:
http://bugs.micasaverde.com/view.php?id=3887

They are logic differences between cp.mios.com and logging in via get Vera that should be addressed as it is causing no end of confusion for the end users.

If a users log in via cp.mios.com with an Vera password defined for UI6(MMS) they receive the message “Username or password incorrect.” Whereby, log via
Login [^] will establish the password verfication type and either you enter an old format password it will default to
MiOS [^]
or a new format for UI6 (MMS)
Login [^]

There are more issues that add to the confusion as you stated see:
http://bugs.micasaverde.com/view.php?id=3888

To future proof your user name, or for UI6, you should create an account via getvera.com. See:
http://bugs.micasaverde.com/view.php?id=3958

Thanks, I just got a new VeraLite and that summary was super useful. I was surprised that initial owner setup and login information wasn’t clear on getvera.com.

Is it possible to remotely access my Vera from a browser? These links all lead to my unit’s local IP address but getvera.com implies that everything is possible from anywhere in the world (e.g. do I need to open a port in my router or does the Vera connect to the Mios server).