What does the Z-wave command classes do?

Hi all,

I am very new to both vera and z-wave. We have a Vera edge controller as well as door/multisensor/switch/ and dimmer. I am a little bit confused about the information in z-wave devices manual. It contains details of configuration parameters and a list of z-wave command classes. I am okay setting configuration parameters, but has not been able to find useful info about command classes. I guess most of the commands must have been implemented in service *.xml files, so that I don’t need to know about z-wave protocol details…

Can someone please help me know what is the role of Command Sets? I am looking to writing programs and developing for vera, so I have started by finding out how the whole system is built and works. :slight_smile:

Is it correct that I should be be in full control of the z-wave device, using the variables/actions in device and service files? For example, to change the more advanced parameters? This way, maybe I do not need to know the usage and syntax of z-wave commands :-\

Thanks in advance.
Mona

Hi Mona, Welcome to Vera.

Command Classes are how we know what to do with a device when it is added to the Vera Controller. It tells us what kind of device it is so we can set up the interface. When a device conforms to the Command Class structure it can be plug and play, when they don’t it requires that we take steps to integrate it into the platform.

Generally it is best for users not to make changes to device settings unless they know what they are doing, if you change the wrong parameter or change it incorrectly you can effect the performance and battery life of that device.

Hi Mark,