VeraPlus - _Scene Control, Getting "Device failed to Configure"

Hi,

I’m new to Vera, I just received my VeraPlus and have only one Z wave device, A linear WD500Z-1

Controller installation, registration etc all went fine. Was able to pair the WD500Z-1 with no problem. However a 2nd “device” appeared. It’s named “_Scene Controller 1” This 2nd device has an error >:( “ERROR: Unable to get any information on node…”

I’ve read other dimmers are “scene compatible” or some such language, The WD500Z-1 has not such language so I’m assuming it does not have this feature.

Question: What is the significance of the above error and how would a scene controller function if it was successful?

Thanks
JohnRob

You should not have the scene controller device showing. It sounds like the inclusion process did not complete properly.

I’d recommend that you first reboot your Vera and see if it clears up. If not, I’d recommend excluding the dimmer and removing the scene controller if necessary. then reboot Vera and make sure it’s gone. then include the dimmer again.

Thanks Z-Waver!

Another question. Rebooting did not help. So I started looking for the exclude option. I could not find a setting to “exclude” a device. Is “excluding” the same as deleting? I found deleting a device at the bottom of the devices options.

Thanks

JohnRob

I have had exactly the same happen but I was adding a ZigBee magnetic door contact sensor (SmartThings Multi Sensor).

The good news is that the ZigBee sensor was recognised - hey ZigBee is enabled :slight_smile: but it failed to complete configuration and timed out. I now have a spurious _Scene Controller 1 device showing with config failed. . The sensor itself does seem to have included OK and shows in the UI and reports state changes correctly although the device also includes a temperature sensor - which was not recognised.

[quote=“JohnRob, post:3, topic:191100”]Thanks Z-Waver!