Vera Edge with Vera Alerts guideline for newbies ?

Just wanted to be able to send notifications to my smartphone at certain events.
I installed the Vera Alerts app on my Vera Edge.
But now I am (as a newbie) completely stuck…
How to continue ? Is there a guideline how to set this up from the start ?
For most information that I found, expects that you have already a lot of knowledge.

And how can I remove the app, if I cannot use it after all ?

I just went through the same process and might be able to give you a few tips. I’m a newbie too, but trial and error worked after these issues were resolved. I assume you installed VeraAlerts plugin and installed the app on your phone (mine is a Samsung Galaxy S5).

1. In the main web app for VeraEdge UI-7, select Devices > VeraAlerts > Profiles. Select New Profiles.
  2. Open the NEW Profile drop-down and choose Vera-Alerts-Mobil.
  3. In the VeraAlerts ID box, enter the 12-characters found on your phone under Settings > Device Identifier. I put my initials followed by a space in the Message Prefix just so I would know where this message came from, but I don’t think any prefix is required.
  4. Be sure to click Reload Luup; now and often. Be patient and watch the top of the screen for progress messages.
  5. Shut off all the Vera UI-7 built-in alerts. Do this in User & Account Info > User Info (uncheck the boxes for Send a text, Send me push, Send me an email (and ignore the bad grammar in the last two, me me me).
  6. Test by going to Devices > VeraAlerts, scroll down to Send Alert. You should have your username and Vera-Alerts-Mobil under “Users”. Check one or both boxes, type a message, and click Send.
  7. Go to one of your devices (I selected a door lock), scroll down to Notifications and add a few. Operate the device and look for VeraAlerts to arrive.