Vera Edge Vs. VeraLite

I’m rather new to the Vera family and after using it struggling like many new user I think I finally have a system that’s working for me. But I’m also wondering if I purchased the right unit to begin with. I see that the Vera Edge supports the new Z-Wave Plus protocol and can handle more devices but what are the other differences between the two units. Reading the Vera Edge products page it would seem to be far more advanced including geo fencing where the VeraLite requires the use of a plugin like iPhone Locator, just an example.

I’m thinking of upgrading to the Edge but if there is really no difference other than support for a larger Z-Wave environment I don’t think it’s worth it. Any info would be very helpful.

[quote=“RichardPHarvey, post:1, topic:187320”]I’m rather new to the Vera family and after using it struggling like many new user I think I finally have a system that’s working for me. But I’m also wondering if I purchased the right unit to begin with. I see that the Vera Edge supports the new Z-Wave Plus protocol and can handle more devices but what are the other differences between the two units. Reading the Vera Edge products page it would seem to be far more advanced including geo fencing where the VeraLite requires the use of a plugin like iPhone Locator, just an example.

I’m thinking of upgrading to the Edge but if there is really no difference other than support for a larger Z-Wave environment I don’t think it’s worth it. Any info would be very helpful.[/quote]

Edge has a faster CPU and double the ram as the lite. Edge has wifi built in (but most don’t use it) lite doesn’t.

Both the lite and the edge run similar software (almost 100% the same except since one has z-wave plus it is a bit different, but not by looks or functions only deep inside) so your geofencing idea is not correct. Both are the same. But the stock geofencing sucks and is limited to one person or device. So I myself use other means anyways.