Vera and Z-wave ready for prime time?

Is anyone making a business out of setting up Vera and the z-wave technology into homes and offices? Is this ready to commercially install?

I’m thinking about starting a small business selling and installing Vera.

Anyone doing it yet? Any advice?

Hi, I’m also want to start a small business based on vera+zwave. I posted some time ago:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=5211.0

As you can see, most of the complains are related to the reliability of Vera. I hope this new release solve all of these.

I had been testing Vera for a couple of months and I see a lot of potential, however, in my short experience I have see some drawbacks (at least for me and my potential market):

• Interface could be confusing. Devices and scenes setup.
  • Interface is only in English. I live in Colombia, so the Spanish is a requirement. I could solve this creating a new or a translated version of a plugin. I’m assessing if it worth to do it.
  • MCV Support is in English. Again, language is a problem. I would have to attend all the support directly.

Despite these problems, I really think Vera and zwave could be a very good (and cool :slight_smile: ) business.

@mcardenas - That’s kind of depressing. I read the thread you started and there is a lot of negativity towards using Vera. I personally have had no problems with my current setup, which includes 5x GE on/off switches, a few dimmers, and thermostat control.

I would really like to know what people are experiencing to substantiate their negativity.

If you read the posts from 2008-2010, you will find a long, long list of issues with Vera. Some of that experience colors the tone of many of us who’ve been banging away at Vera for a while… I know I am quick to blame any issue on her (It’s snowing again. Damn you Vera!! :slight_smile: )