Unable to configure switch and plug

I’m new to Vera so started out slowly. Installed a CT100 thermostat (batt. power) and a Vera Lite. Installation went fine, but got 3 devices when it configured. I installed the MiOS Update Utility and that mostly fixed it (although there are still 3 devices in Homebuddy). I then installed a GE 45609 wall switch and paired it with Vera using full-power inclusion and it worked fine. That setup, with just 2 devices, has been working fine for about 2 weeks.

Today, I finally received my GE 45605 duplex receptacle that was on backorder. I installed it in the same room as the thermostat. I paired it with Vera using full-power inclusion, but the device says “unable to get any information on node.” I’ve tried “configure node right now” with same result. If that wasn’t frustrating enough, the GE 45609 wall switch that has been working fine now also says “unable to get any information on node.” When I try to switch the lights through UI5, it does 5 retries, then gives “Transmit failed with code: 2” message.

So far, the thermostat still seems to be working fine. I have done a heal but the report shows no communication with the wall switch or receptacle.

I’m at a loss where to go from here. I knew Vera would not be the most user-friendly, but this is just unusable.

Thanks for any help.

When you added the new device it introduced a defective route to the Z-Wave network. This is due to weak signal and Vera mistakenly selecting a poor route.

The problem might improve with one or more heal operations, but it will likely return unless you add more nodes and get a better Z-Wave mesh network going. You need more intermediate nodes.

If heals don’t get you working, You may need to remove or relocate the 45605 until you get more nodes.

Edit: I explained and diagrammed what is likely happening to you in this post.