Turn ON/OFF scene with 1 button on scene controller

April 11, 2011 at 10:16 pm

I am new with Vera. I to was frustrated when I could not get the OFF button to work as expected. I fiddled around with it until I found a work around. I have Vera 2 with UI4 with Intermatic HA07. However, this will probably work with other controllers. I only have the HA07.

I have it working with a scene for on and a scene for off using 2 ON buttons. But I lose half of the controller. I now have it working with one button. The off button is still not used. However I gained all my buttons back which was my goal. It is still maddening why buttons 10, 11, 12 are not operational on the HA07. Vera just does not recognize these buttons. But as least I have 1 scene per button back.

By toggling the state of the module you can turn on and off with one(1) ON button. The Command Tab is not used in this example. Both type of modules, dimming and non-dimming, works with these instructions. On the dimming module, you will need to scroll down to see the ToggleState command.

1. Create Scene

2. In the Events Tab
    Device: Choose the Scene Controller
    Type of Event: A scene is Activated
    Name of the event: Create a name
    Scene Number: Choose a scene controller button number

3. In the Advanced Tab
    Scene is Active: when all device in the scene is properly set
    Pick a device: Choose the module you want to control
    Click Add
    on the line was added:Choose ToggleState
    Repeat step 3 for additional modules.

4. Save scene

I hope this helps with your frustration to. If you see any corrections, please let me know.

Excellent hack!

It is still maddening why buttons 10, 11, 12 are not operational on the HA07.

Seems to be a general problem:
http://bugs.micasaverde.com/view.php?id=1394

@drdata,

Neat. What if one or more devices in the scene that has been turned on, are manually turned off and then the On button on the scene controller is pressed; does that work too?