Trying to understand Secondary Controllers

I’m just starting out with Z-Wave and Vera and I’m trying to understand some of the basic underlying concepts. Specifically here I’m trying to understand secondary controllers.

First I’ll describe what I think I know so I can find out if my assumptions are wrong:

1. When a primary controller adds a device, the device will then send its messages exclusively to that controller.
  2. The device decides the route that messages will take to get to the Primary controller.
  3. When a secondary controller is added to the primary, the primary sends information about all the devices that have been added to the primary.
  4. However, when the primary subsequently adds new devices this information is not automatically sent to the secondary!?
  5. Devices don’t send information to secondary controllers.
  6. When a secondary controller wants to make something happen on system, it does it by sending a scene activate command with a scene number.
  7. The scene number sent by the secondary has no relationship to scenes set up in the primary. Instead the primary can use the scene number to allow the secondary to activate different triggers based on the scene number it receives.
  8. The Primary can be set up to de-activate a scene when the secondary’s scene command comes in.
  9. The secondary can’t directly control devices (e.g. turn on a light); it can only send triggers to the primary.

Is this correct? What does it mean to de-activate a scene? What is the purpose of sending the network configuration to a secondary if all it can do is send triggers to the primary? Is this just for backup of the configuration? I guess I can see it as a step in making the secondary into a new primary, but if that is the purpose why wouldn’t that be a one step process? In other words the copy configuration would be part of a “move to new Primary” function but not something you would do with a secondary.