Starting a new system

Hi,

I am brand new in this smart home stuff. I ordered a VeraPlus a couple of weeks ago and expect it will be delivered in a few weeks.

I?ve been reading a lot thru this forum and have a question that hopefully some of you experienced guys can answer.

I plan on installing several motion detectors and 4 Plug In Dimmable Lamp Modules.

What I would like to be able to do is set up the lamp modules so that when I am in the “Vacation” mode they will come on at random times for random durations during the night to give the impression that the house is occupied.

Can this be done with the standard Vera software, or do I need some specific plug-ins?

This newbie would appreciate any advice he can get.

Cliff

If you search vacation ghost in this forum you will get a lot of ideas. I do not believe the original ghost is available but thre are some alternatives.

Another similar plug in is (or was) Dues Ex Machina

You could do it with the native software of vera. It would take some work. App would be easier. I was not worried about randomization so I created several light scenes that would only run in “vacation” mode. A dedicated burglar casing the joint would figure things out.

There probably is a way to randomize with code. I didn’t look in to it.

Again, the apps mentioned would be easier.

Edit: Vacation ghost is not in the app store anymore. Deus Ex Machina is still available. Perhaps there is another way to get vacation ghost?

[quote=“Inzax, post:4, topic:191395”]You could do it with the native software of vera. It would take some work. App would be easier. I was not worry about randomization so I created several light scenes that would only run in “vacation” mode. A dedicated burglar would casing the joint would figure things out.

There probably is a way to randomize with code. I didn’t look in to it.[/quote]