Send scene event via socket

Hi,

I’m pretty new in using the Vera Lite and of course I’ve never programmed with luup or lua…

The question is that I have an external java app that needs to know when a motion sensor has detected a presence and when a door sensor has detecte the door is open.

I was working with the motion sensor and I created a scene with a trigger when the sensor is tripped. Now, I guessed I could write a luup code to be executed when the trigger is triggered, so a message is sent through a socket.

This is the code I wrote, based on the code in this thread: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=6489.msg40643#msg40643

[code]local socket = require “socket”
local udp = socket.try(socket.udp())
broadcast_ip = ‘255.255.255.255’
port = 53007

local t = os.date(‘*t’)

local message = ‘MotionSensor’+t

socket.try(udp:sendto(message, broadcast_ip, port))[/code]

I have tested it in the Test Luup Code section and I get “Code failed” but no reason why.

Any idea how can I do this easy?

It is best to log into vera via ssh and run the lua code from the command prompt. When logged into Vera via ssh, create a file with your lua code and issue the lua file_name to run the code. Your better off doing this for testing than to use the luup test section of vera. The only issue is that you will not be able to run any Vera specific apis e.g. luup code.

• Garrett

Thanks garrettwp, that was helpful.

Nos I have a code tha’ts supposed to work (I mean, I wrote the code in a file in through ssh and executed it successfully)

local host, port = "localhost",53007 local socket = require("socket") local ip = assert(socket.dns.toip(host)) local udp = assert(socket.udp()) local date = os.date("MotionSensor %c") assert(udp:sendto(date, ip, port))