Recommended Functioning Thermostats

I have been using a Radio Thermostat CT-100+ for a few months, and have decided to scrap it due to the fact that it refuses to consistently issue the ModeState when it changes from HEAT to IDLE or COOL to IDLE. I installed it so that I could program VeraPlus to activate my ceiling fans to ON/OFF when the HVAC was actively heating or cooling, and turn them off then the HVAC state was IDLE. I have verified via the log that the ModeState is not getting sent every time there is a state change. I have contacted RadioThermostat and their reply was:
"Hi,

We do not offer z-wave programming support. But I do know it only sends certain data only when requested or on a schedule.

Sorry can’t be of more help,

Thanks,

Rene"
Not much help there!
So, I am interested if any of the users on this boaard have experience with alternate z-wave thermostats that actually DO consistently broadcast their ModeState changes. Thanks in advance for any guidance in this.

Mine seems to hit the idle state all the time. I use this code

require('ltn12')

local function devname (id)
  return luup.devices[id].description
end  

local name = devname(6) 

local http = require('socket.http')

-- 5 Second timeout
  socket.http.TIMEOUT = 5

local response_body = {}
  local request_body = ''

local r, c, h = socket.http.request{
  url = 'http://192.168.1.25/recording.php?token=6&extra=0&name=' .. string.gsub(name, "([^%w])", function (c) return string.format ("%%%02X", string.byte(c)) end),
    method = "GET",
    port = 80,
    headers = {
      ["Content-Length"] = string.len(request_body),
      ["Content-Type"] = "application/x-www-form-urlencoded"
    },
    source = ltn12.source.string(request_body),
    sink = ltn12.sink.table(response_body)
  }

To log to my webserver. i did just order a GC-TBZ48. Will be here in a few days.