question about light switch

I am new to automation (and not well versed in wiring) and have a small setup with vera controlling a group of sensors and plug in switches, so far so good, I want to add my first lighting wall switch (replace an existing non zwave one) which has one spotlight on it, there is no neutral wire on the switch so if I understand prev posts I must use a dimmer switch, however there is neutral available in the same box as it is shared with an outlet, can I simply add a wire from a non dimming zwave switch to common or would the whole circuit have to be rewired to use a non dimming switch, if I must use a dimming switch which ones play nice with Vera? Thanks for any comments

If there is a common neutral in the box then you can add a wire to it and use any Z-wave Relay Switch you want - I like the Leviton VRS15-1L

Kaldoon is 100% correct. Common, is common. I have a couple of boxes with multiple switches and all the commons are ganged.

Thanks much for your replies!

And to take mpenda’s comment one step further - all the commons from the entire house are ganged together in the main service panel. So, yes, common is truly common.

please forgive my ignorance but the switches say “3 way” when I look at specs, is this ok for a single switch application?

Yes. If you are only using it for a one way switch you won’t need to connect the red wire (check the switch instruction sheet to verify the color of the unused wire or screw terminal). The common wire should be the white wire. Make sure you don’t use the bare copper (ground) as a common.

Caveat to CMRancho’s comment…

Yes, all Neutrals (white wire) are connected together at the main panel of the house. Neutral and safety ground (bare wire) are connected together there as well.

But… once they leave the main panel, they must not be connected together.