PLUGIN: RokuControl

This is my first attempt at writing a luup plugin, and has only been tested with a Roku 3 and a TCL RokuTV on Vera Plus and Vera Lite. Much of the functionality hasn’t been tested at all. This was initially an attempt to simplify turning my Roku on and off, and it kinda got out of hand.

All that being said, it has surpassed my expectations in terms of functionality even though there are a few minor issues I’ve yet to figure out. I’m putting the code out here for all of you gurus to use, test, modify, and give me feedback. I’m particularly interested in how functional it is on other Roku versions. Keep in mind, I implemented a number of features in the Vera interface that may not be supported by your Roku device, however I found that there were more features supported on my devices than I expected.

Plugin is attached and code is also on github.

Incomplete list of supported actions:

[ul][li]on/off[/li]
[li]volume up/down/mute[/li]
[li]basically whatever is on your remote[/li]
[li]launch or install applications[/li]
[li]search for and launch content[/li]
[li]change input[/li]
[li]query active application[/li][/ul]

When installing the plugin, make sure your Roku is powered on. You’ll have to specify its IP address, and it should be set to static either in the Roku or your router’s settings. Once the IP is set, the plugin will start querying for information about your device.

Attached some screenshots
2018-02-27: Updated description, fixed minor bugs.

2018-03-11: The released version of the plugin is now available in the app store.
[url=https://apps.mios.com/plugin.php?id=9041]MiOS Apps

Additional documentation is available here.

I have a Roku 3 and will probably use a Harmony Hub to control it and the TV and receiver via Vera someday. I am currently using an old Harmony 600.

I was not aware the Roku 3 could be turned off. Is that just via the API or am I missing something?