Outdoor Outlet

I am looking to install a new receptacle outside on my porch. I would love for this outlet to be zwave, but am unsure how to proceed because I don’t see any zwave GFCI outlets on the market. The outlet will not be controlled by a switch, so using a zwave switch to control the outlet isn’t an option.

I see that there are some outdoor modules (GE 45604), but this wouldn’t be as aesthetically pleasing. What are my options?

Thanks for your input.

I’m not an electrician but I ran into the same issue you have. I ended up using GE45604’s plugged into GFI outlets as I was not able to find any outlets rated for outside use.

You may be able to get away using an inside one using a good quality cover if it’s eg on a covered porch but I’m not sure if the electronics will stand up to it or if it’s even up to code.

I had an electrician install one of the GE outlets outside in a covered receptical mount. He said wouldn’t be an issue. I’ve had it running a mosquito misting sysem for two months without any problems. We’ve had two major storms here since it was installed. No problems.

You can also mount a standalone no outlets (or outlet type) GFCI upstream of the z-wave outlet that feeds your z-wave, giving it GFCI protection if it should have a ground fault. I have a circuit that comes into my garage/workshop and goes directly into a covered standalone GFCI, then everything gets fed off of that, that has been working well for me the last few years.

This is what I ended up doing. Thanks for everyone’s feedback.

Does anyone know of any issues with temperature tolerance (high or low) with Z-Wave outlets/switches?

My Intermatic switches are labeled 32F-104F. I have 3 in my attic/s that are routinely heat-soaked for long periods at 95F and up with no ill effects. I’d be slightly surprised if they actually didn’t work between around 5F-32F. I’ll probably find out this upcoming winter, by then I’ll have a few in my garage.