Newbie Questions on Portal

Hey. Got my Vera-Lite. Got a few questions that I can’t find answers to. Nothing major. This is all UI5. Note I’m a s/w developer so feel free to just give me the quick technical answer.

[ol][li]
Under Automation. If I start editing a scene, I’ll get a “Cancel/Confirm Changes”. What exactly is that doing? Is it saving ALL changes I’ve done to that scene? Or just the particular TAB I’m under. For example, perhaps I simply clicked Automation/Triggers/Edit one of the triggers. Alternatively, I could have clicked Automation/Scene/Edit a Scene/Trigger. It’s two different ways of getting to the same thing, but in both cases, what exactly is “Cancel/Confirm Changes” doing in those 2 cases.
[/li]
[li]
Now depending on the answer above, the next question if the RED “Save” button. That will illuminate after I’ve done a change (such as above). What exactly is that doing? Were the changes above only stored in the browser (assuming some Java crap is running)? So when the RED “Save” is pressed, it’s now actually saving the data to the Vera-Lite controller? I assume that’s the case. But I also assume it’s dumping something to “cp.mios.com” as well.
[/li]
[li]
If I press “Logout” and then later change something and press “Save”, it seems to log back in and save stuff. Does that imply my user id/pwd is cached in the web portal somewhere? I assume Java (and or JS).
[/li]
[li]
In the very TOP bar of the web portal there are 2 up/down arrows. What are those for? Can I put something up in that panel and use those to scroll?
[/li]

[li]