Need help with aeon labs door sensor on garage door

I am new to vera and have an aeon labs door sensor on my garage door. I would like to know how to setup it up so between 6:00pm and 10:00pm when the garage door is opened it will turn on an interior light. If someone knows how to do this and could provide instructions that someone new could follow I would greatly appreciate it.

This is what I would do:
Create a scene
Add the commands to turn on the lights you want.
Add an event to the scene based on the aeon door signal.
Add the following Luup code to the Scene.

local Hr = tonumber(os.date("%H"))
if (luup.is_night())then
  if (HR < 22) then
     return true
  end
end
return false

If this code returns true … the commands are executed.
Instead of 6:00 PM I used night time. The value of HR is in the range 0 - 23

@sdittoc,

Welcome!

Also, this wiki page may have some useful snippets.

oTi@ thanks for the wiki…

This is what I would do: Create a scene Add the commands to turn on the lights you want. Add an event to the scene based on the aeon door signal. Add the following Luup code to the Scene.

Code: [Select]
local Hr = tonumber(os.date(“%H”))
if (luup.is_night())then
if (HR < 22) then
return true
end
end
return false
If this code returns true … the commands are executed.
Instead of 6:00 PM I used night time. The value of HR is in the range 0 - 23

I am not home so i can not test this right now. This is what I did. Please tell me if I followed your directions correctly:

1. I created a scene “Kitchen Lights on”
  2. I added the light to turn on to the scene
  3. I created a trigger for aeon labs door sensor when armed sensor is tripped.
  4. I added luup event code you gave me to the above trigger event.

Thanks again for the help.