My Vera (UI8?) Wish-list

I’ve used several different DIY Home Automation systems for the last 20 years…X-10, Insteon, and now Z-wave (Homeseer, Fibaro HC2, VeraPlus). Having used so many different systems, and now having had the Vera Plus since it shipped, I have suggestions on how it could be improved…not just a little bit, but to a level where it blows away the competition. Evey system has its pros and cons, but as I use my Vera, I find it very close to being great. But it’s not. Homeseer is much more powerful, but its ugly as hell, and very expensive if you add it up, especially where plugins come in. Fibaro HC2 had an attractive UI and improving mobile app, but its z-wave engine was crap even when it worked. (45-second delays, etc)

That being said, I’m a Vera newbie, but an Home Automation and Web Development veteran, and between the two, here is my Vera Wish List in no particular order:

Comment, agree/disagree, correct me if I’ve asked for something already there, etc. as you will. :slight_smile:

Here goes:

1) OAuth Authentication: It is now a widely used standard. Would allow for native integration with other products, such as…

2) Native Echo Support: Without a Bridge.

3) Native Nest Support: Vera should natively support ‘Works with Nest’

4) UI8 (or UI7.5):
a) Standardized Bootstrap 4 UI: Why wait for BSv4? Theme Support. (It’s in beta, )
b) Tighten some things up. The slider value should be to the right of the slider at all times, and with that, you eliminate wasted white space.
c) Same goes for the favorites star / button. Make it a triable overlay and tuck it up in the corner of each device.
d) For multi-sensor devices, find a way to incorporate them all into one single “display device” and hide the others for use in scenes, etc. (see #9 below).
e) There’s just so many ways to tweak the UI to make ir more economical on space while still being mobile-friendly. (I’ve designed several Bootstrap 3 Websites, so I speak from experience here.)