Migration off of VeraLite help

Hi All -

I have an old VeraLite (firmware v1.7.919) that I’ve been using successfully for many years now, and it appears that all good things must come to an end. After not having tweaked anything for well over a year, I decided to try to add a new Zooz Zen15 power switch last night, and things took a turn for the worse.

It doesn’t look like Lua starts up correctly, though the system boots and I can ssh into it. However, I have solid blue and green lights, and a very slow blinking orange. The UI responds, but extremely slowly, and usually eventually gives some kind of timeout if I try to do anything too taxing.

So… I think it’s time to switch to another controller, which is totally fine with me, it’ll be a fun project, but: my understanding is that things will go more smoothly if I unpair all of my (dozens) of Z-Wave devices so that they can more easily be included with the new controller? If so, does anyone have any advice on the best way to attempt this, given my crippled state?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Ross

Does the VeraLite use the same backup/restore mechanism that other Vera controllers use? If so, your unit just might need a factory reset to “freshen it up”. In other words, I hope it’s just a firmware/software issue. Sadly, once old the hardware on old Veras starts malfunctioning due to degredation, I don’t think there’s much one can do to “save” it.

I’ll be interested to hear what ezlo staff advise you to try.

On the other hand, seems like you can still buy a VeraLite for under $200 (here) online. I would literally do anything before having to unpair and re-pair dozens of devices, lol. GOOD LUCK!

1 Like

Try to get your hands on a Vera Plus. You can restore a backup of the lite to that and start from the last good working backup.

Cheers Rene

2 Likes

I have a call with support set for Saturday, I’ll see what we can come up there before making any purchases. :slight_smile: Thanks for the help so far!