Lighting Dimmer Control

Hi all, I’m relatively new to the world of Vera and Z-Wave and was plugging away with very limited success until I gave Reactor a go. Ironically I had initially avoided it wanting to progress first from the basic, and now I realise its the key to elegant simplicity.

I’m wondering whether anyone has used Reactor to set lighting dimming levels across their house based on time (and/or zone lux levels once I’d mastered basic schedule based dimming).

I had always anticipated achieving a lower energy usage by, for example, having lights set to 50% in the evening and 15% in the midnight hours.

The problem I have encountered is that using SetLoadLevelTarget I don’t seem to be able to set dimming levels on a schedule for my various dimmers (GOAP/Qubino, Aeotec Nano) without the lights coming on. I’ve searched high and low for a solution and tried SetOnEffectLevel (also in combination with SetOnEffect) as well as a few other things.

(I think I get 400 errors on the above with the dimmers I have.)

Surely this is possible, particularly with Reactor? Or is the required functionality device dependent and I’m stuck dimming lights after they turn on, etc?

I use this also, in the evening, I use the activity to set the dimming level directly to 15%.
So when you turn on the lights after 1900 for the first time, they turn on at the last dimming level and then are dimming down to 15%.

This is done with Fibaro dimmer “Set dimming level”. Just tried SetLoadLevelTarget and that does the same.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply.

I think I had also read somewhere in my travels that Fibaro dimmers seemed to work as expected. I can’t believe the dimmers I have don’t seem to!

1 Like