Lessons learned. A layman’s Zigbee setup, (and re-setup)

I recently had the experience of setting up a Vera, and then almost starting from scratch to set things up again. I am far from an expert in this field and leaned heavily on others in the forum who provided the help I needed to get my system back on its feet.

A little background.
I am coming from the Wink. The Wink is a capable device but lacks many of the fine-tuning controls that the Vera possesses. It is a little like an Apple product. It works out of the box, and is nice to look at; however, if you want to do anything beyond its design, you are out of luck. I had a few products hooked up to the Wink, namely 4x GE/Jasco Fan switches, 2x Sylvania Motion Sensors, 2x IRIS Smart Plugs, 4x Dome door/window sensors, and a whole lot of Lutron Caseta switches, dimmer and Picos. The Wink was pretty laggy, and not being able to use the Picos how I wanted was one of the main reasons why I switched to Vera. I also wanted something that worked locally, and that did not wholly rely on the cloud. Aside from the Wink, I have 6x Stelpro SMT402 (Zigbee Thermostats). A Stelpro SMC402 Controller was controlling those units independently.

Moving over to the Vera, I of course had to purchase a Lutron Smart Bridge Pro. I will not talk too much about the Lutron products in this post because everything was quite easy with them. I will concentrate on the things that were not easy.

I set everything up as I did the Wink. All in one shot. This appeared to work at first but then I started to have some major problems. A quick look at my logs showed over 2000 consecutive poll failures. Reactor was shutting down; I had lost control of my smart home. After much trouble shooting (mainly by experts on this forum), I had decided to redo the Zigbee portion of my network.

Here are the lessons learned from this experience.