JavaScript API pages online and UI7

Hi,

Just got a Vera Lite and have a few sensors and switches set up. Since it is UI7 more plug ins don’t work than do, at least the ones I’ve looked at.

So, I thought I’d dive and and do some programming. My background is primarily C/C++, embedded Linux systems, with some JavaScript/PHP/CSS,HTML mixed in for good measure. I did some semi-advanced LUA programming on one embedded project a year or so ago, so once I get enough details sorted out I hope to be able to fix a couple of the issues I was trying to solve with existing plugins.

So my question is, some time ago it was mentioned here that a new API doc for UI7 was in the works. I think it was back in September if I recall.

I haven’t seen anything mentioned since then, but while trolling the various Luup and plug in documentation on line I found the JavaScript API link. There it says in section 4 JavaScript API for UI7. But the link that led to that page has a note “needs update”.

Does anyone know if the JavaScript API doc is safe to refer to, or does it need additional updates? I want to try avoiding going down the rabbit hole if it isn’t safe to follow.

Thanks,
Burt

Hi Burt,

In my experiance it is not 100% reliable. Some functions work local but nor remote (api.getDataRequestURL is one, they promise to add it in the next release.)

performActionOnDevice and performLuActionOnDevice are simply non existing. What I did is download the js files from the Vera and study them a bit.

Cheers Rene

[quote=“reneboer, post:2, topic:184295”]Hi Burt,

In my experiance it is not 100% reliable. Some functions work local but nor remote (api.getDataRequestURL is one, they promise to add it in the next release.)

performActionOnDevice and performLuActionOnDevice are simply non existing. What I did is download the js files from the Vera and study them a bit.

Cheers Rene[/quote]