IR input device

Hello,
I asked over in the setup forum about using an IR dongle to generate events / trigger scenes, but it hasn’t gotten much attention. I’m wondering if I will need to write a plugin to do this? I am a professional software developer and wouldn’t mind delving into this if necessary but I don’t want to duplicate effort if its been done before.

Anyone know of anything like this? If not, any tips on where to start? I assume that it would involve a) getting the dongle recognized and working under linux (looks like there is a project called lirc that has drivers) and then b) creating a plugin to handle it.

Thanks,
-Merit

Perhaps most folks use Z-Wave controllers (handheld or in-wall), or native apps or the mobile browser GUI on their smart phones / iPods / iPads to interact with Vera. It seems kind of counter-intuitive to use IR if you can have RF or WiFi control.

At any rate, before looking at the SW side, what do you propose for HW? (Although that was probably part of your question.) As you need line-of-sight for IR, you’re probably not looking for just something that plugs directly into Vera, but rather an IR receiver that connects to your (wireless) LAN. Or a wireless IR repeater plus something that plugs into Vera.

And what do you propose as controller? Presumably an IR remote.

What do you propose Vera (your application) is going to emulate for an IR device, so that my remote is compatible with it? Do I just take an old remote, for a device I don’t use/have anymore, and make it the remote for Vera?

Did you do some searching for LIRC on this forum already?

I’m not quite sure whether a Squeezebox qualifies as an IR dongle: :slight_smile:

http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Squeezebox#LOUIS4Vera

:slight_smile: Sure does. If you own SB('s).

First off thanks for looking at this and taking the time to get me straightened out.