How do i use the virtual switch plugin?

I have installed the virtual plugin but I have no idea how to use it,

http://apps.mios.com/plugin.php?id=1408

Im a complete newbie, could someone advise how I use this plugin.

I’m pretty new as well, so I’m sure others will chime in here with their more advanced use cases. I’m sure I’m using them in ways that over complicate things a bit, and will likely end up deleting some, but at least at the start, it’s helped me keep things more organized.

I’ve been using the virtual switches most frequently in creating scenes with PLEG. So I have a switch labeled “vacation/weekend” which when turned on modifies automated scenes I have set up (e.g. when I’m on vacation, blinds open later in the morning, coffee turns on later, etc…). Ultimately I want to get this controlled by google calendar, so it’s automatically switched. The other application I’m trying to get working is geofencing/ibeacons, so as we come home, geofence switch turns on and when this switch turns on the gate opens, outdoor lights come on, etc… Still very much a work in progress, but hoping I can get this figured out.

The other way that I use them is to fire a scene from my iPhone app. I use homewave and just add the virtual switch to the app and can use it to control lighting scenes or other actions.