Honeywell/Ademco Alarm Panel Plugin Development (RS232)

I am starting plugin development on a Honeywell Vista alarm panel. I decided to start a thread on this so other users could track my progress as well as give input/feedback.

I am a professional engineer and have quite a bit of experience writing firmware, although I am new to Lua.

Here is the list of materials I have in house as I begin:

-A Honeywell security system with a Vista-128BPT panel. While I had the system installed and monitored by a local company here in San Francisco, I do own the system and the company is very responsive to any help that I need up to and including calling Honeywell as an installer with questions.
-A Vera 2 with the latest UI installed.
-A Vera supported USB/RS232 FTDI converter
-All of the installation and programming manuals for the alarm panel.
-A copy of the Honeywell Home Automation Setup Guide and a copy for the Computer Interface Protocol 4 spec.
-A home made serial cable. This board has pin headers for the RS232 port right on the panel, so I had to make a cable.
-A copy of the latest DSC alarm panel plugin for reference.
-A laptop running Ubuntu Linux for development.

Current Progress:

I have created a cable and connect the panel to my laptop using the FTDI converter. I have opened up a terminal program and observed System Notifications coming from the panel. I then wrote a C++ program that captures these notifications and decodes them to human readable messages as well as generates and compares the checksum.

Next Steps:

The panel is not responding to requests from the outside. I have read through the programming guide and I think that there are some more options that need to be enabled in the panel. I have made a list of these and sent it to the installer to have them enabled. I expect that to be done by this evening when I get home. Once that is working, I will enhance my C++ reference program to handle sending in status requests and reading logs.