Hi! New zWave Enthusiast here! Great deals at Radio Shack and some Questions!

Hi There,

I am a tech junkie in my spare time, and we are remodeling our basement into a master bedroom suite. During my research for a home automation system I came across zWave, then Mi Casa, and now I am drooling at the possibilities. I ordered a Schlage lock and a MiCasaVerde2 online - the lock is here, the Casa is on its way. Also, thanks to info from this forum, I stopped into Radio shack today where they are giving away GE Zwave units, and got:

2 x 3 way dimmers
2 x dimmer switch
2 x lamp module
1 x appliance module
3 x power receptacle
1 x hand held remote control
1 x schalge deadbolt

all for $220! WOW!

So a few questions:

1. recommendations for a simple yet integrable thermostat? I want something which I can program with the weather, occupancy, etc
  2. My new master bedroom will have 3 switches control the main lighting, one on entrance, one at the back door to the deck, and one by the bed. I believe the front and back are 3 way, and the middle is a 4 way - can anyone recommend a z wave 4 way dimmer? Or do I even need a zwave dimmer there if the other 1 or 2 will be zwave? In that case can anyone recommend a non-zwave 4 way dimmer which matches the style of the GE ones I just got?
  3. How are people using cameras in their systems successfully? Do you have a jpg capture camera that grabs the door when it opens? Window sensors? Video capture?

I have yet to set this gear up, but once the MCV2 gets here, I suspect I will hole up for a few hours and get it all configured - I saw the quick start guide so I will save simple questions until I have reviewed that.

Thanks so much in advance, and I look forward to lot’s of zWave fun!

I like the Trane thermostat the best, and if you can find one at Radio Shack, it’s a steal.