help with buying wall switches

I’m new to home automation. I got my vera and a few modules setup but now i’d like to buy wall switches that control most of my lights. I’ve read info about different kinds but i’m confused on what exactly i need. I’m looking for only on/off type switches. Most of the switches are just a single switch to control the light in a room. However in my basement i have a switch at the top and bottom of the stairs that control the same light. Near my stairs i have a panel that has 3 switches that control 3 different lights. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Walk around your house and take off the wall plates. Take note of all the switch boxes that don’t have a neutral wire in them (Minimum 3 wires: 2 blacks,1 white). Also note what type of bulb is in the fixture, incandescent or CFL? Also take note of the wattage of the bulbs your controlling. Once you have everything noted, think about how you want to control the lights. Imagine your habits during the course of a day.

Search through the forums and shoot some emails off to the engineers at Leviton and Cooper Lighting if you have any technical questions you can’t find by searching in the forums.
Good Luck :slight_smile:

Please note that if your wall switch does not have a neutral wire in it, you cannot control the Light if it is a CFL bulb.

If your using incandescent lights you need a regular 2-way Zwave switch such as a an ACT ZDW120($43.00) For your 3-way and 4-way circuits you need an ACT ZDW103($58.00) and a couple companion switches ACT AS101($13.00). The guys Mark-HC mentioned provide a great quality product just a lot more expensive than ACT.

For CFL’s you will need a relay switch such as a ZRW113 from ACT.