Goodbye MCV; Hello Homeseer

So after several years of dealing with the shortcomings of Vera I decided to upgrade to Homeseer. Bought the software over the holidays when they have their half-off software sales and bought an Intel Core I5 NUC to run it on. Now that I’ve been running it for a couple of months I wish I had switched sooner. Home automation finally works like home automation should. No lags; no unplugging the system daily to clear out the memory; it just works.

Vera was a great product to get started with, but the limitations of outdated, under-powered hardware coupled with buggy software was too much to live with for the long run. While the user community here is fantastic it cannot make up for the shortcomings of Vera.

I highly recommend Homeseer for anyone who is frustrated with Vera.

I did the same not to long ago, and with Imperihome app and already having a mini PC running Blueiris,PLEX and few other things Homeseer fit right in. I was good with PLEG but the logic is better and all in drop down boxes. Z-wave network is much more stable and easier to manage. Plus all the options to expand.

Sounds interesting. I see it will take care of zwave but what about things such as hue and somfy blinds ?. I run both of those via plug ins and hardware links, do you have control of those as well ?.

They have plugins just like vera. People have somfy blinds with homeseer (I don’t) but a quick search seems like there are more then one way to make the link between somfy and homeseer I’m not sure what fits your needs. A search of the forum is probley your best bet.

This is also one. srv.rusnes.no is not found

Same goes for Hue there is more then one plugin for Hue. I have Milights myself.

Homeseer is my next move if my Vera keeps having issues. I was one of the early beta testers for the original Vera and have gone through the motions with all of them (Vera, Vera2, and I have two Edge Veras - one for firmware testing)