First Steps - Help

Hello folks,

I am a complete newbie to this technology, so please go easy on me.

Having been recently burgled I am looking in to this technology to improve security at home. Current alarm system did its job in alerting neighbours and sending unwanted guests running.

Starting gently with switching on/off lights via mains adaptors and hopefully progress to greater things.

I also like the idea of being able to have remote control via the internet when away.

Partner thinks that cheap timers are adequate, but I want to have more fun. As my user name, I am an elderly person, but like playing with technology.

I’m thinking about purchasing a Veraplus with a number of mains adaptors, using z-wave. Approximately six devices around the house.

Can anyone recommend a make of switched mains adaptors (UK use), or also ones to avoid ? Not too expensive, bearing in mind previous comment on partner?s solution of cheap timers.

Some guidance on uk suppliers would also be great.

Hopefully I am okay posting in this area as a starting place.

Many thanks

Z wave is definitely not cheap. It seems to even be more expensive now that Amazon and Google have started selling their assistants. If all you want is a centralized smart timer that controlls a bunch of lights (timed events, on at specific times, etc), then Vera will likely work great. If you dive in and want to do anything more advanced than that, you’ll need to know a lot about the different types of technology associated with it (i.e. networking, programming, troubleshooting, testing, hardware, linux, etc).

There is no way that I would depend on Vera for security. I barely trust it to know if I am home…

For UK supplier you won’the get simpler than going to www.vesternet.com who will supply UK type equipment. They have all the Vera models and are happy to provide advice.