First HA Controller - Should I buy Edge or 3?

Been doing simple lighting automation for years but recently moved to new home and ready to upgrade to a dedicated controller and expand a bit. Seem like Vera is a good place to start and I like avoiding subscription services. So would you recommend Vera3 or should I start with the Edge which seems to be future direction? Any advice is greatly appreciated. I am a software developer by trade so any tips for coders also appreciated.

I would start with the EDGE. It’s half the price and has more features. The 3 is discontinued anyways.

If you can find a deal on a 3, that is how I would go. You can roll-back to UI5 until UI7 is fully baked.

I had to make the same decision a few months back as my VeraLite just didn’t have enough memory. I went with the Vera3 - but I found a real deal on one from a known supplier… I think it will be hard to find a Vera3 new at this point…

One thing to consider is that future ZWave devices will likely use the extended feature set which is supported in the Edge but nothing prior (Vera 1-3, Vera lite). That said I have two Vera 3 units running so I’m going to have to move up eventually as new sensors/devices are introduced but right now UI7 appears to be more trouble than it’s worth :slight_smile:

Problem tho is if you roll back to old software (which is no longer being worked on) then you’ll never want to move up and when you do you’ll complain of the change. For a new comer I recommend to just get started on whats current ui7. Getting used to what your gonna be working with is alot better then training on a device that’s already outdated and stopped production then having to jump into the new stuff.

For us that have been around and already were running ui5 and have a stable system up and running its a different story.