Deadbolt returning opposite status - help please!

I have tried to install a z-wave deadbolt and can’t get it to return the correct lock status. I live in Australia, and the lock is digital home systems ZM1702AU - I believe this is a Yale lock.

I can get the lock to pair without problems, but to get it to lock I have to tell it to unlock. That works fine, but it means the pin entry doesn’t work. This was the point f the system, so rather frustrating.

I have tried setting the reverse on/off status, but this does not change anything.

I’m new to z-wave and would really appreciate some advice on what to try.

Thanks

Hi Nomer,

I don’t know how much the forum is going to be able to help you here. Very few people seem to have that lock, and there’s hardly any hits for it online either. Most Australians on the forum here are gun-shy about being early adopters of locks, so we don’t have any personal experience.

You probably need the help of Micasaverde support, and/or of the retailer that you got the lock from.

Some things that occur to me, in no particular order:

Be sure that you are using the latest Vera firmware. The release notes often mention locks so unless you are on a recent firmware you haven’t got a chance of it working. 1.5.632 is the current latest version.

If you just consider the lock and forget about Vera: do you need a PIN to lock it, or do you need a PIN to unlock it? If the former but not the latter, then it may be an installation error. In my limited experience installing mechanical locks, I’ve once put part of the lock in wrong and had it zig when it should have zagged. Particularly since this lock seems to be switchable for left/right-opening doors, make sure you’ve configured it right.

Your description of the problem is ambiguous. Does the lock report its locked/unlocked status to Vera backwards? Or does it report the locked/unlocked status correctly but the actions are backwards? Which it is might point to different causes.