Controlling Smith & Noble Shades?

Hello All: I’m new to the Ezlo community, so can’t start a new topic yet. But was wondering if anyone has experience with sending ascii or hex command via udp broadcast so that I can automate Smith and Noble shades. Any suggestion is appreciated. Thank you

I don’t know the answer, never heard of Smith & Noble before, but you need to provide more information.

Firstly which controller do you have? Is it a new Ezlo controller or an old Vera controller?

Also do you have the Smith & Noble smart hub?

Or do you just have their remote control handsets? Do you know what protocol their remotes use to communicate with the shade motors?

I also saw this post on the HA forum about the udp broadcasts.

I did a bit more digging, looks like the Smith & Noble smart hub is 2.4Ghz WIFI to RF 433Mhz. So assuming your shade motors are RF then. User manual here for their smart hub.

Looks like they have a Control4 driver also for Wifi to RF and those UDP broadcasts.

I would maybe contact Smith & Noble and ask them if they have an API for their smart hub and some documentation ?

Your options are probably this.

1. Some how send UDP broadcast packets directly from the Vera / Ezlo controller to the shade motors smart hub.
  2. If you have an Ezlo hub and Smith & Noble have an API for their Smart Hub, if you asked Ezlo they may be able to make some integration plugin.
  3. Or maybe look at using a Broadlink RM Pro hub to send out the RF commands to the shade motors. Both Vera and Ezlo hubs support Broadlink RM Pro I believe. You could use the shades remote control to teach the Broadlink RM Pro hub the RF commands etc.

If you have a new Ezlo hub? There is a plugin called “Ezlo Protocols plugin”

As part of that, there is a UDP Manager that might work? Never used it myself.

This is a Meshbot rules action, using the UDP Manager as the device.