Consume less energy

Hi, I am new to the system. I have a Veralite which I am using with Schlage locks. But, I have a question regarding a house that I have for rent.

This is the scene:

My tenants turn on the air conditioning every day and then, leave the house so that when they arrive they find the room cold. Please recomend me a method or some kind of sensor that can capture the movements in the room. I have no problem with them turning on the A/C during the day if there are people in the room. If they are going out I can’t have the A/C on so that the room can be cold when they arrive hours later. This uses alot of electricty and the bills are high.

Please inform me of anything that I may use to conserve more energy in the house.

Thanks for your help in this matter.

Miguel Columna

There are several ways to handle your needs. There are several motion sensors, including Aeon’s 4 in 1 Motion and temperature device. I have it, but have not installed it yet. However, what I suggest may depend entirely on your thermostat and existing wiring and how your vera is going to control it. Without knowing that, I would suggest that you install a NEST thermostat, which has a motion sensor, humidity sensor and is remotely controlable. Possibly with this thermostat by itself, which hooks up to your existing wiring and wireless internet connection, you may not need anything further. It is programmable for schedules so if the user turns the temp up or down too much, your schedule can revert it back to whatever your setting are. You can min or max out the temperature they can set it to. It can also communicate directly with the Vera unit if you want to further perform any other automation control. As long as the Nest is located in an area that captures the motion you want, then possibly an additional motion sensor is not required, but it could still be added for more, better coverage.