Changed state - door locked or not - Fibaro Universal sensor

Hi,
I’m new to Vera and still learning. But things is not always what one expect. If I did understand the whole concept better then this would probaly be a no problem.

Trying out a Fibaro Universal sensor, that should tell me if a cylinder in a door has been locked or not (i.e. that is not opened or not).
The universal sensor triggers fine and vera update works fine, but do not trigger for a scene or two (on/off).
My questions are: What am I doing wrong here, or think wrong, and how do I solve this best?
I would like this finally to be only one scene or rather a state (unlocked/locked = red/green or off/on).

Problem:
I found that my girlfriend tends to leave our back garden door closed but not “locked”. Thus I want to know if this door is locked or not. Next option would be opened or not, intrusion, but that is more of a neat option.

Setup:
1 Fibaro universal sensor and a backgarden door. This is only in test stage, but will hopefully be implemented into the door.
The key lock mode has two states and to understand this, the cylinder-lock has two (or three) mechanical states - either you turn the key to the right and the lock is locked, or turned to the left and the lock is unlocked. Between them is a neutral state (it can be either in locked or unlocked state - this is where the key can be pulled out and the door opened). The actuall openeing of the door is made by a handle (obvoius it can only be done in unlocked state).
THe mechanical solution will be a small 12v battery, a circuit board with electrical triggers to left and to the rigth and normally open between, thus three different states [N1= tigger unlocked, Neutral=NO, and N2=trigger locked].