Beginners trouble with Vera Edge and motion sensor etc

Hi!

I’m new to the Z-wave scene, and recently purchased a few things to get started. However, it’s not exactly problem free this far and I would like to ask you all some questions to better understand what’s going on. I am a programmer so I’m not afraid of tweaking and fixing things here and there… but I’m a bit puzzled when things don’t work as expected, or work the second or third time even if you do the same thing :wink:

I have a very basic setup for testing right now:

• Vera Edge (firmware 1.7.906)
  • Fibaro Motion Sensor (FGMS001)
  • TKBHome on/off plug (TZ68)

The first problem I have is that after I connected the Motion sensor to the system everything worked fine for a while. After a short while (minutes, sometimes more, sometimes less) the Vera UI says “Can’t detect device”. The first few times it happened I tried re-adding it but the last couple of times I noticed it actually is still working, because I can make it trigger a scene anyway. But why is it saying it can’t detect it then? I did a few times also have issues where it stopped working and I had to re-configure it. A bit inconsistent in my mind…

The second problem is with my second device, the on/off plug. I had it not far away from the Edge (like 6m) and all of a sudden I couldn’t flip it on/off anymore. Moving it really close made it work again. Could it be interference with something in my home that causes range problems? Z-wave in general should have a far longer range as I have understood it.