Before sunset event not working?

I’m pretty new at this, and I’m trying to figure out how to set up a simple scene that will turn a light on before sunset and turn it off 4 hours later.

I have a scene that has, in the Commands tab, turn light ON then 4 hours later turn it OFF. In the timers tab, I have a single timer that is day-of-week based, all 7 days checked, that says Before sunset 30 minutes. What happens every evening is…nothing.

If I change the timer to be a specific time of day, the scene works exactly the way I’d expect it to.

Am I doing something wrong? Also, are there any logs that I can look at to see what the system thinks it’s doing? Thanks.

[quote=“rogerl, post:1, topic:168375”]I’m pretty new at this, and I’m trying to figure out how to set up a simple scene that will turn a light on before sunset and turn it off 4 hours later.

I have a scene that has, in the Commands tab, turn light ON then 4 hours later turn it OFF. In the timers tab, I have a single timer that is day-of-week based, all 7 days checked, that says Before sunset 30 minutes. What happens every evening is…nothing.

If I change the timer to be a specific time of day, the scene works exactly the way I’d expect it to.

Am I doing something wrong? Also, are there any logs that I can look at to see what the system thinks it’s doing? Thanks.[/quote]

@Rogerl

Myself i created 2 scenes, one for switching on (including sunrise options)
And another for switching off (including sunsetoptions.

This helped me to use the two scenes with any lights i want to associate.
But of course with some experience in luup coding it should be possible to get it into one scene…
This might help: [http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=6613.0]

Any takers?

I actually saw that post, but assumed I didn’t need to to any lua coding.