AutHomation Info

I am new to programming with Java and for the Android platform. I am not new to programming as I know other languages. I use to be an iphone user and switched to the android platform for many reasons. One of the things that I missed was a good Vera app for Android. There is homebuddy (I use and donated to the developer), but wanted something more. This is how AutHomation started.

The project started in the beginning of the year and I stopped working on it a month or so after for time reasons. A few months ago, I had some more time and started working on the project again. It first started off for the phone and than forked over for the Honeycomb tablet (bought an Asus Transformer in the summer). I made some huge progress and finally had a working version for Honeycomb tablets only.

Recently I got a few request asking if it will be ported to Android 2.3 and older. There was one problem with that. Many of the development api’s I am using for the tablet version was not available for the older versions of Android. I have been trying to conform to Google’s standards with developing for the tablets. Google did release a package that would allow for both platforms to work together. So I decided to see what I can do to port it over.

I spent the last week taking the tablet code and getting it to run on Android 2.3 and older. At first I wanted to make just one app. When getting deeper into the code and making changes to make it work on 2.3 and older, I lost features and functionality on the tablet side. That is something I did not want to do. So I decided to have two versions. It would require more time to maintain, but I felt it was for the best.