Associations confusion

I’ve been learning this HA stuff for about 3 years now and have amassed a tangled web of some 148 devices (most are children). With all the experience that comes from running a big system like mine and I still cannot figure out associations. In spite of reading extensively I still have not been able to make the simplest association between my eco-link motion detector and my GE light controller right next to each other. There are so many variables and relationship I am frankly, just confused. Could somebody please walk me through the process STEP BY STEP to help me do this? Right now with the light set to go on via vera scene it can take from 1-5 seconds which just isn’t quick enough.
TIA
|-<:)

Following since I, too, tried and failed a couple of times to Associate devices, and nothing happened. I hope someone knows the answer!

Model Number of the Eco-Link motion detector please… link to the documentation for the model would be super helpful.

Note the most important thing to know about creating device associations…
Associations are 1 directional, you always set the association on the device that you want to control another device (the target device does not need to know anything about the association). The Group Number is just a Behavioural number… what kind of behaviour you want for the association, and that behaviour number is different for each device/manufacturer. For a motion sensor, Group 1 may be On on Motion, Off on no Motion, while Group 2 may be On only on Motion (with no off), but without the documentation you are just guessing what group number is the correct one (and their can be 99 of them most companies use the lower digits, but some use 99 as well). So Group has nothing to do with grouping the devices together. That is what “Set” is for with-in a group.