Any way to notify others if security system reports an intrusion?

I am very new to Z-wave. I will be building a new home and in addition to wiring it for Internet and cable, I want to begin installing Z-wave products for home automation and security. I currently live in a home where we have a FrontPoint security system. It is great, but requires a monthly fee. If I am rafting a river and out of cell coverage, I know that if there is a breaking and FrontPoint can’t reach me, they will call local law enforcement for a check.

From what I can tell from reading and Youtube videos, the Z-wave security systems using the Vera controllers will notify me if there is an intrusion. The problem is that there are times that I am not within cell coverage. Does anyone know if there is a way to have a Z-wave system notify law enforcement, or someone else besides me, if there is a breakin?

Thanks,

Terry Brown

Your z-wave system can notify any person you want but it have to be your friend or someone from your neighborhood.

[quote=“browntdb, post:1, topic:192625”]I am very new to Z-wave. I will be building a new home and in addition to wiring it for Internet and cable, I want to begin installing Z-wave products for home automation and security. I currently live in a home where we have a FrontPoint security system. It is great, but requires a monthly fee. If I am rafting a river and out of cell coverage, I know that if there is a breaking and FrontPoint can’t reach me, they will call local law enforcement for a check.

From what I can tell from reading and Youtube videos, the Z-wave security systems using the Vera controllers will notify me if there is an intrusion. The problem is that there are times that I am not within cell coverage. Does anyone know if there is a way to have a Z-wave system notify law enforcement, or someone else besides me, if there is a breakin?

Thanks,

Terry Brown[/quote]

Hi Terry, congratulations on your new house!