Any Experience migrating from ZWave devices Vera to ISY994iZW?

Howdy,

I’ve been running a hybrid setup using an ISY994i and a Vera for the last year. THe ISY994i does my lights, motion sensors, flood/leak sensors, etc and the Vera connects to my power meters, door locks and thermostats. Thanks to the GREAT ISY plugin for Vera, I’ve had pretty good luck.

That said, the Vera is just not “rock solid” like I’d prefer. It freaks out about once every 2-3 months and requires a restart/power-cycle to get back to normal. Twice it’s completely “lost” all the Zwave devices, requiring a restore. It’s too sketchy for me.

By comparison, the ISY has been solid as a rock. I’ve been doing automation for 20+ years and until the ISY/Vera, mostly built all my own software and I expect 99.99999999999% uptime. Vera doesn’t cut it and I’ve lost trust.

So I’m considering getting the ZWave module for the ISY and want to migrate my Zwave setup from the Vera to the ISY. If that gets screwed up, I’m going to have a LOT of work to undo, so wanted to see if anyone else has done this.

If so, was it difficult to use the built-in stuff to migrate to the ISY and set it as the primary controller? Did you have to re-add any devices?

Any experience/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Gerry

I also have the ISY but I use it strictly as an interface for Vera for Insteon devices. While the Vera has a lot of warts, the ISY is just no where near as powerful as Vera when you use community code. ISY is lacking severely in features, development on it is even slower than from Vera LLC, and the owner doesn’t understand home automation (one example: he told me directly 3 years ago he’d never do Zwave because it would not become anything popular)

While I’m not 100% happy with Vera’s lack of stability I have found it to be 99.9% reliable by doing the following…
Vera 3 + UI5 + don’t use a USB memory card + nightly reboot