Advise needed for home automation

Hi Everyone, I am new to home automation and would like to know what everyone would recommend to get me started, I was thinking of purchasing a Vera home automation hub however I am not sure which one would be best. I would like to automate some things around my home but what do I start with as I know once I start I will build on what I purchase.
I would like to control things like, LED lights, air conditioner, home media and various other small items like blinds and door locks.

Apologies as this has probably been asked a thousand times but I could not find it in the forum.

Any advice is appreciated and thank you.

Here is a primer I wrote a while back. I cant really discuss other platforms here due to forum rules but feel free to message me directly.

Technologies: Zwave, zigbee and insteon are “full stack” automation solutions. What that means is that communication layer, enrollment, encryption, API and device attributes are baked in. Every smart switch uses the “switch” profile and the command for “light on” is always the same. Zwave and zigbee allow for new, novel commands when new device types hit the market. They are not IP/wifi-based (they have their own network technology) .

Zwave, zigbee, and insteon use mesh radio networks. Low power, so battery friendly, and the mesh let’s them have decent range. However only mains-powered devices can act as relays. Zwave is 900Mhz (good signal penetration for power but frequency varies by country), zigbee is 2.4Ghz (which can conflict with bluetooth and wifi b). Insteon is 900Mhz and also has powerline signaling as well in a dual-path configuration that is great in concrete block/steel housing that eats RF.