a scene with Heliotrope

Hello,

First, i’m new with vera.

I want to make a scene with Heliotrope.
I have the vera 3 with the new firmware and i install the app.
I want that the light goes on when the sun goes down.
If i go to new scene i see a red cross by the app, i can only select the light dimmers.

Maybe someone can help me

Hi John,

You don’t need to use Heliotrope if you want a scene to activate at sunset (but you can).

To use the standard built-in functionality, go to the Schedules tab while you are editing the scene, and select Day of week based. You can then select At sunset as well as some other options. See the attached screenshot.

To use Heliotrope, go to the Triggers tab while you are editing the scene, select the Heliotrope device, and pick Sun goes below altitude and say 0 degrees. See the attached screenshot.

The screen that has the “red cross” (Devices) is only where you say what the scene should do when the time comes (in your case, turn the light on). You can’t control the sun, hence the no-entry symbol. :slight_smile:

It’s been remarked that having the result first, cause second, in the Edit Scene tab order is a bit counter-intuitive. Looks like you are a victim of this too.

That is very quick Futzle !!

It is very cool what i can do with Vera.

Know i see " Sun goes below altidude " in de screen and then i must fill in degrees.

At 0 the sun is under and at 90 its the highest point ?

0 is the horizon, yes. It will only reach +90 (or -90) if your latitude is between the two tropics, ±23.5º latitude.

Obligatory Wikipedia reference: Horizontal coordinate system - Wikipedia

Both works, thank you.

Downloaded the plugin from Apps last night as I had been using the older plugin created from uploading the files, it’s different with the sun icon and I hadn’t noticed the trigger capability before.

I think I can use this to keep my weather camera always pointed 180 degrees out of the sun.